## MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF GENESEO COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT #228 BOARD OF EDUCATION 648 N. CHICAGO STREET GENESEO, ILLINOIS HELD ON THURSDAY, APRIL 25, 2019, AT 6:30 P.M. IN THE GENESEO SCHOOL DISTRICT UNIT OFFICE MEETING ROOM

## PRESENT: J. Ash

H. DeBrock D. Ford D. Olson J. Puentes B. Snodgrass K. Urick ALSO PRESENT: Dr. Adam Brumbaugh, Superintendent Al VanDeWoestyne Kyle Ganson Rita and Ron Ford Melanie Henderson, GEA Co-President Lisa Depies, Geneseo Republic Michelle Ganson Lorrie Snodgrass Tracy Ford Julianne Puentes Nate O'Dell, Middle School Principal

Jill Patten, Recording Secretary

1. President Ford called the special meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. The purpose of this meeting is to seat newly elected board members, elect officers, and set time and place for regular meetings.

Roll call was taken with seven members present (Ash, Ford, DeBrock, Puentes, Snodgrass, Olson, Urick)

- Report of canvassed votes as certified by Henry County Clerk, Barbara Link: Diane Olson 864 Votes Bill Menendez 834 Votes Kyle Ganson 812 Votes
- 3. President Ford administered the Oath of Office to the newly elected Board Members Olson and Ganson. Bill Menendez took Oath of Office on April 18, 2019 due to scheduling conflict.
- 4. Motion by Snodgrass, seconded by DeBrock to appoint Dr. Brumbaugh as President Pro Tem

Motion carried by a roll call vote of six ayes, (Snodgrass, DeBrock, Olson, Urick, Ash, Ganson) one absent (Menendez)

- 5. President Pro Tem Brumbaugh called the meeting of new school board to order at 6:36 p.m.
- 6. Motion by DeBrock, seconded by Urick to nominate Barry Snodgrass for the office of President for a two-year term. Nominations were closed.

Motion carried by a roll call vote of five ayes, (DeBrock, Olson, Urick, Ash, Ganson) one absent (Menendez)

7. Motion by Ash, seconded by Olson to nominate Heather DeBrock for the office of Vice President for a two-year term. Nominations were closed.

Motion carried by a roll call vote of five ayes, (Snodgrass, Olson, Urick, Ash, Ganson) one absent (Menendez)

8. Motion by Urick, seconded by DeBrock to nominate Diane Olson for the office of Secretary for a two-year term. Nominations were closed.

Motion carried by a roll call vote of five ayes, (DeBrock, Snodgrass, Urick, Ash, Ganson) one absent (Menendez)

 Motion by DeBrock, seconded by Urick to set regular meetings of the Board of Education for the second Thursday of each month at the District Office Meeting Room, at 6:30 p.m. as presented, with no regular meeting scheduled for July

Motion carried by roll call vote of six ayes, (Ganson, Olson, Urick, Snodgrass, DeBrock, Ash) one absent (Menendez)

- 10. Board of Education 2019 Operating Agreement presented for review.
- 11. Motion by DeBrock, seconded by Ash to adjourn

Motion carried by a roll call vote of six ayes, (Snodgrass, Urick, DeBrock, Olson, Ganson, Ash), one absent (Menendez)

13. The meeting was adjourned at 6:49 p.m.

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY