MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF GENESEO COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT #228 BOARD OF EDUCATION

648 N. CHICAGO STREET GENESEO, ILLINOIS

HELD ON THURSDAY, APRIL 11, 2019, AT 6:30 P.M. IN THE GENESEO SCHOOL DISTRICT UNIT OFFICE MEETING ROOM

PRESENT: ALSO PRESENT:

J. Ash Dr. Adam Brumbaugh, Superintendent

H. DeBrock Tim Gronski, CSBO

D. Ford Lisa Depies, Geneseo Republic

D. Olson
Linda VanDerLeest, GHS Counselor
J. Puentes
Travis Mackey, High School Principal

B. Snodgrass Melanie Henderson, GEA Co-President

K. Urick Nathan O'Dell, Middle School Principal

Jill Patten, Recording Secretary

1. President Ford called the regular meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Roll call was taken with seven members present (DeBrock, Puentes, Ash, Olson, Urick, Ford, Snodgrass)

- 2. President Ford recognized visitors.
- 3. Presentation: Travis Mackey, GHS Principal and Linda VanDerLeest, GHS Counselor, presented to the BOE Curriculum 2020 and Beyond and College and Career Readiness.
- 4. Superintendent/CSBO Report. Dr. Brumbaugh presented President Doug Ford (16 years) and Secretary John Puentes (20 years) with a Maple Leaf Medallion for their dedicated service as Board Members. Both will retire at the April 25th reorganization meeting. New Board Members Kyle Ganson, Bill Menendez, and re-elected member Diane Olson will be sworn in to serve 4-year terms. The State of Illinois accepted the district application for tuition waiver for certified staff to allow them to enroll their children from out of district.
- 5. Motion by Olson, seconded by Puentes to accept the consent agenda as presented:
 - a. Approve the minutes of the March 14, 2019, Regular Meeting
 - b. Approve Geneseo CUSD bills in the amount of \$1,142,202.37 payroll in the amount of 781,886.25, for total expenditures of \$1.924,088.62
 - c. Consider/Approve Board Policies-2:70, 2:80, 2:120, 2:150, 3:40, 4:15, 4:45, 4:80, 4:130, 4:170, 5:10, 5:30, 5:60, 5:100, 5:190, 5:200, 5:220, 5:230, 5:300, 6:20, 6:50, 6:60, 7:100, 7:200, 7:250, 7:290, 7:340
 - d. Approve 2019-20 Cafeteria Rates
 - e. Approve 2019-20 S.A.F.E. Rates
 - f. Approve Transportation Prices/Contract for 2019-20
 - g. Approve Student Registration/Misc. Fees for 2019-20

- h. Approve Educational Support Personnel Starting Wage Schedule 2019-20
- i. Approve IESA Annual Renewal
- j. Accept 880-E1 Gifts to the District from Entity Other than GEF
- k. Accept 880-E2 Gifts to the District from GEF

Roll call was taken with seven members present (Snodgrass, Puentes, Olson, Ford, Ash, Urick, DeBrock)

6. Motion by Snodgrass seconded by Ash to accept the personnel agenda as presented:

Employment

Name	Position
Arthur Atwell	GHS Assistant Boys Track Coach
Patrick Babcock	GHS Special Education Teacher
Randy Bormann	District Maintenance Supervisor
John Davis	GHS Assistant Boys Track Coach
Amy Denney	Southwest S.A.F.E. Aide
Kim Farber	Northside Elementary Long-Term Sub
Tim Gronski	District Mentor Coordinator
Michele Hepner	Food Service Director
Lawrence Lord	Performing Arts Center Manager
Tom Ryerson	GHS Volunteer Boys Track Assistant Coach
Skyler Schnieder	Southwest Elementary Teacher
Pat Taber/Jill Patten	Special Education Secretarial Support
Claire Wiese	GHS English Teacher
Jay (Jacob) Wilson	GHS Assistant Boys Track Coach
Volunteer Chart	

Name	Position	
Kathryn Girswold	Southwest Elementary Student Teacher-K-12 Music (Eckwall-	
	LaCroix)	
Christine Rogers	Millikin Elementary Student Teacher-K-12 Music (Scherer-	
	Gierhart)	

Resignations/Retirements

Name	Position	
Tracie Douglas	Millikin Elementary Kindergarten, leave of Absence effective	
	August 13, 2019 thru May 22, 2020 (180 days)	
Dawn Gale	Middle School Builders Club Sponsor, resignation effective end	
	of 2018-19 school year	
Janelle Hickey	Northside Elementary 5 th Grade, leave effective September 16,	
	2019 thru November 22, 2019 (49 days)	
Michelle Splear	S.A.F.E. Aide, resignation effective March 22, 2019	
Debra Williams	Special Services Secretary, resignation effective April 12, 2019	
Mindy Wilshusen	Middle School Student Council, resignation effective end of 2018-	
-	19 school year	

Roll call was taken with seven members present (Ash, DeBrock, Ford, Urick, Puentes, Snodgrass, Olson)

7. Board Work

a. Approve Permanent Transfer from Working Cash Fund to Education Fund in the amount of \$500,000.00.

Motion by Puentes, seconded by Urick for Permanent Transfer of \$500,000.00 from Working Cash Fund to Education Fund

Roll call was taken with seven members present (Olson, Puentes, Snodgrass, Ford, Ash, Urick, DeBrock)

b. Approve Copier/Printer RFP Contract

Motion by Urick, seconded by Olson to Approve Copier/Printer RFP Contract with Office Machine Consultants, Rock Island.

Roll call was taken with seven members present (Ford, Puentes, Olson, Snodgrass, DeBrock, Ash, Urick)

c. Approve 2018-19 Amended IWAS School Calendar

Motion by Ash, seconded by Snodgrass to approve the 2018-19 Amended IWAS School Calendar as presented.

Roll call was taken with seven members present (Snodgrass, Ash, DeBrock, Ford, Olson, Urick, Puentes)

- d. First Reading 2019-20 Parent/Student Handbooks
- e. Review Board Policies-4:190, 6:310, 7:260
- f. Discuss Placement of Foundation Plaques at GHS. Jim Ash GEF representative asked the board to approve GEF placing plaques in the Fine Arts Area. There will be a place for the Sherrard Foundation and GEF. Board members were in favor of plaques to honor the generous donations to the district from each foundation.

Motion by Puentes, seconded by Diane to adjourn to closed session for the purpose of Employment of Employees, no action will be taken.

Motion carried by voice vote of seven ayes, (DeBrock, Ford, Ash, Urick, Olson, Puentes, Snodgrass).

- 8. Closed session 7:20 p.m.
- 9. Motion by Urick, seconded by Snodgrass to return to regular session 8:20.

	Motion carried by voice vote of seven ayes, (DeBrognodgrass).	ck, Ford, Ash, Urick, Olson, Puentes,	
	Motion by DeBrock, seconded by Urick to adjourn regular meeting.		
	Motion carried by voice vote of seven ayes, (DeBrod Snodgrass).	ck, Ford, Ash, Urick, Olson, Puentes,	
10. Regular meeting adjourned 8:20 p.m.			
	PRESIDENT	SECRETARY	