MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF GENESEO COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT #228 BOARD OF EDUCATION 648 N. CHICAGO STREET GENESEO, ILLINOIS

HELD ON TUESDAY, MAY 5, 2015, AT 5:30 P.M. IN THE GENESEO SCHOOL DISTRICT UNIT OFFICE MEETING ROOM

PRESENT: ALSO PRESENT:

C. Coleman Scott Kuffel, Superintendent

H. DeBrock

D. Ford

D. Olson

J. Puentes

B. Snodgrass

A. VanDeWoestyne Natalie Haugse, Recording Secretary

ABSENT:

J. Mickley

1. President Ford called the special meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. The purpose of this meeting is to seat newly elected board members, elect officers, appoint Board Treasurer, and set time and place for regular meetings.

Roll call was taken with six members present (Ford, Puentes, Coleman, DeBrock, Snodgrass, VanDeWoestyne), one absent (Mickley).

2. Report of canvassed votes as certified by Henry County Clerk, Barbara Link:

Marvin J. Gradert 834 Votes
Douglas W. Ford 1,708 Votes
John S. Puentes 1,450 Votes
Diane S. Olson 1,809 Votes
Jackie Mickley 1,442 Votes

- 3. Superintendent Kuffel administered the Oath of Office to the newly elected Board Members Ford, Puentes, and Olson.
- 4. Board of Education 2015 Operating Agreements were reviewed, agreed to, and signed by each member of the Board of Education.
- 5. Board/Superintendent Communication Protocols were reviewed, agreed to, and signed by each member of the Board of Education.

6. Motion by Coleman, seconded by Snodgrass to appoint Superintendent Kuffel as President Pro Tem

Motion carried by a roll call vote of seven ayes, (DeBrock, Snodgrass, Ford, Puentes, Olson, Coleman, VanDeWoestyne).

- 7. President Pro Tem Kuffel called the meeting of new school board to order at 5:33 p.m.
- 8. Motion by Coleman, seconded by Snodgrass to nominate Doug Ford for the office of President for a two-year term. Nominations were closed.

President Pro Tem Kuffel cast a unanimous ballot and declared Doug Ford elected as President for a two-year term.

9. Motion by DeBrock, seconded by VanDeWoestyne to nominate Barry Snodgrass for the office of Vice President for a two-year term. Nominations were closed.

President Ford cast a unanimous ballot and declared Barry Snodgrass elected as Vice President for a two-year term.

10. Motion by VanDeWoestyne, seconded by Coleman to nominate John Puentes for the office of Secretary for a two-year term. Nominations were closed.

President Ford cast a unanimous ballot and declared John Puentes elected as Secretary for a two-year term.

11. Motion by Olson, seconded by Puentes to approve Marcia Fleming as the 2015-16 District 228 Treasurer, with compensation for her services set at \$2,200.00, payable in June, 2016.

Motion carried by a roll call vote of seven ayes, (VanDeWoestyne, Ford, Puentes, Olson, Coleman, Snodgrass, DeBrock).

12. Motion by Olson, seconded by Coleman to set regular meetings of the Board of Education for the **second Thursday** of each month at the **District Office** Meeting Room, at **7:00 p.m.** as presented, with no regular meeting scheduled for July

Motion carried by roll call vote of seven ayes, (Coleman, Ford, Puentes, Olson, VanDeWoestyne, Snodgrass, DeBrock).

13. Motion by DeBrock, seconded by Snodgrass to adjourn

Motion carried by a roll call vote of seven ayes, (S Olson, Ford, VanDeWoestyne, Puentes).	nodgrass, Coleman, DeBrock,
14. The meeting was adjourned at 5:40 p.m.	
PRESIDENT	SECRETARY